Bike Life.

Ridin' Dirty: My ride.
They see me rollin’… They hatin’…

Life in Hakodate is very simplistic and lovely. However, in order to get around to places, you would have to use the public transport system (which is always on time – for your information! I don’t miss Sydney in this sense), pay for an expensive taxi or you could buy your own type of transport. Unlike some people who rushed to get their full licences, I was one of those lazy people, who kinda sat there for 5 years complaining about wanting to drive (and then renewing my licence) and now… I’m here. So, what did I end up with? I bought myself a bike! It is super useful to have a bicycle (with a basket!) in Japan. Also, you can now officially tick that off the bucket list now! *checks*

Near my place, there’s a bus stop straight outside that has a route that takes me to the local Uniqlo and ABC Mart as well as Hakodate Station, but it’s about 240 yen each way. It’s not too bad… but once you put it into comparison with how many times you’ll be travelling there, you’re looking at about the same price every time. Overall, because I’ll be here for a year, it’s not a bad investment to think about. I bought a bike, because #YOLO and pretty much, because it’d be hella badass. I’d have my own set of wheels… 😉

Lesbionest, I haven’t ridden a bike in forever. You can ask the people around me! I’ve rejected all bike riding ideas back in Sydney (and Melbourne) because I felt uncomfortable knowing that I’d probably make a fool of myself if I was off-balance. The decision to buy a bike was due to peer pressure, but nonetheless, I don’t think I regret the decision because… again, #YOLO. Unlike most people, I enjoy walking because it allows me time to think and appreciate the scenery more. There are times when I’ve just gone for walks and it feels so amazing. I’m so glad that I chose Hakodate because it’s exactly what I wanted. A mix between countryside and city with scenery at a 360 view, especially at Mount Hakodate. ANYWAY, BAD TANGENT. Back to riding! The first ride I took was honestly the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life.

Imagine this. You’ve just learnt how to ride without your training wheels for the first time. You’re still not used to it and swerving side to side to maintain balance. You’re scared that you’re gonna smack into a wall, a post or something. That’s pretty much how it felt for me as I jumped onto my brand spanking-new bike. I struggled so much! Realising that I had spun too much to one side and then quickly trying to re-balance it back… it’s so much hard work! At the beginning, I started with short trips and the like, but it’s all good now! I’m definitely not a pro (I still smack my face into walls and whatnot). You can say that I’ve gotten used to it. It took me a week to learn how to lock my bike (genius, right here). And no, I’m not mentally challenged. Japanese bikes come with their own key lock and there’s a certain way you have to lock your bike. I’m just a noob.

It has been almost two months since I’ve been here and I feel as if I need to go and explore more places! As much as I love my walking adventures, it doesn’t take me as far as I thought it would. I would try to take a random bus to places, but I don’t trust myself as I probably wouldn’t be able to find my way back home (thank you Google Maps). Quick thanks to the people to dragged me out to Mount Hakodate to push my bike up that stupid, steep hill, climb and descend the mountain (without my bike, thank God), ride down the steep hill after, ride to the ocean and then back home. #fitnesstested #totallyunfit

Also, if you want to know more about the deals with the bikes in Hakodate, shoot me a comment or something. That’s pretty much all from me for now. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

